Torschlusspanik

I’m not sure why I have the desire to start a blog. Maybe it’s the need for a creative outlet.I used to write a lot in my youth. Now I often think about writing, but rarely put the pen to paper. The words just stay in my head. I’m hoping having this blog will inspire me to get the words out and help me find my voice again.

There is a German word that perfectly describes how I feel at this stage in my life: Torschlusspanik. It literally translates to the panic of the door (or gate) being closed. It’s that realization that life is running out and I haven’t done all of the things that I would like to do. I am restless and I have been restless for a long time, but life and responsibilities have kept me mostly grounded for the past 25 years. My desire for adventure and to experience new places and cultures partially explains my chosen field of International Eduction. Of course, being around people from different countries and cultures all the time only compounds my desire to travel and explore the world. I’ve been grounded far too long. I want to go and see the places where my students call home, experience their culture, try their cuisine, hear their music, and attempt their languages. I’m sure I would fail miserably on that last point, but then that would only give me a greater appreciation for how difficult it is for them to come here and take classes in English. (I’m always looking for an excuse to justify traveling to their countries, but so far it hasn’t gotten me anywhere.)

 

6 thoughts on “Torschlusspanik

  1. Torschlusspanik may be my new favorite word…I often feel that way myself. It is so hard when we stop to take notice of how fast time moves around us, but it is also the urgency of that knowledge that presses us forward to do beautiful things.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I have Torschlusspanik too! At least I know what to call it now. Mine has been triggered by work related stress, deciding to quit my feild of work in the hope of finding something new and loosing my Dad to cancer a few years ago. I am going to read about Torschlusspanik. Your career choice sounds like a good way to tackle Torschlusspanik.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great word, isn’t it? My career actually seems to enhance the feeling. If I could travel to all the places where my students live, that would certainly help! Unfortunately, I don’t do any international work related travel and here in the U.S. we don’t get a lot of vacation time.

      I’m sorry for your loss. It sounds like you’ve had a lot of changes in the past few years. What field of work were you in? What are you looking into now?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have over 20yrs history in health and social care – as a Trainer, Manager, Counsellor etc. Austerity measures here in the UK have seen huge cuts in funding in the sector and it’s become demoralising for me. I am taking a career break for a few months, using my savings. I’m going to try a new career direction when I figure out what that is!

        Like

Leave a Reply

